Faculty Days

 FALL FACULTY DAY: A TEACHING AND LEARNING EVENT
Recordings from Friday, September 4, 2020 

We invite you to watch the recorded sessions from the Fall Faculty Day by clicking on the presentation titles. Wentworth faculty and staff presented best practices, shared examples, tools  and strategies. Sessions are organized based on the following tracks. Enjoy!

*Please note that a Wentworth login is required to view all sessions and presentation materials*

 

Opening Session


Leading on Learning

Presenter: Ian Lapp, Senior Vice President and Provost 
View Presentation Materials
Email: Ian.Lapp@wit.edu

 

Brightspace: A New Model for Learning
Presenters:  Jody Gordon, School of Sciences and Humanities and Mel Henriksen, School of Computing and Data Science (Co-chair, Faculty Senate Academic Instruction Committee)
View Presentation Materials
Email: gordonj7@wit.edu | Email: henriksenm@wit.edu

 

Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Sessions

Fostering an Inclusive Online Classroom
Presenter: Ella Howard, School of Sciences and Humanities
View Presentation Materials
Email: howarde@wit.edu

 

Impact of Social Consciousness on Design 
Presenters: Aaron Carpenter, School of Engineering and Juval Racelis,
School of Sciences and Humanities
View Presentation Materials
Email: carpentera1@wit.edu | Email: racelisj@wit.edu

 


Reducing Stereotype Threat in the Classroom: Simple Tips to Create a more Inclusive Learning Experience
Presenter: David Simpson, School of Engineering
Email: simpsond3@wit.edu

 

Reimagining Assignments – Encouraging Belonging
Presenter: Joseph Martel-Foley, Office of the Provost
View Presentation Materials

Email: martelj@wit.edu

 


What is Your Why?

Presenter: Nicole Price, VP for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Email: pricen1@wit.edu

 

Teaching & Learning Sessions                 


Teaching in an Asynchronous Class
Presenter: Stephanie Pollard, School of Computing and Data Science
View Presentation Materials
Email: pollards@wit.edu

 


Alternative Grading Strategies

Presenter: Emma Smith Zbarsky, School of Computing and Data Science
View Presentation Materials
Email: smithzbarskye@wit.edu

 

Getting Rid of the Carrot and the Stick: How to Help Develop an Intrinsically Motivated Student
and Citizen of the World

Presenter: Lizzie Falvey, School of Sciences and Humanities
View Presentation Materials

Email: falveyl@wit.edu

 


Let’s Talk About HyFlex Learning
Presenter: Ron Frattura, Learning Innovation & Technology
Email: fratturar@wit.edu

 

Service Learning Opportunities
Presenters: Anuja Kamat, School of Engineering and Juval Racelis,
School of Sciences and Humanities
View Presentation Materials
Email: kamata@wit.edu | Email: racelisj@wit.edu

 

Faculty Spotlight Sessions


#BeUp: A Simple Framework for Life Management
Presenter: Adam Payne, School of Sciences and Humanities
View Presentation Materials
Email: paynea3@wit.edu

 


Best Practices Using the Lightboard
Presenter: Nasser Yari, School of Engineering
Email: yarin@wit.edu

 


One Way to Deliver a Technical Lecture Remotely
Presenter: John Haga, School of Computing and Data Science
Email: hagaj@wit.edu

 


Planning and Executing Remote Labs: Experiences and Knowledge Gained
Presenter: Christopher Brigham, School of Engineering
View Presentation Materials
Email: brighamc2@wit.edu

 

Strategies for Using Gradescope to Create Assessments and Provide Student Feedback
Presenters: Memo Ergezer, Semere Habtemical and Youssef Qranfal, School of Computing and Data Science
View Presentation Materials

Email: ergezerm@wit.edu | Email: habtemicaels@wit.edu | Email: qranfaly@wit.edu

 

Faculty Resources & Support Sessions

Supporting Student Well-Being
Presenter: Maura Mulligan, Center for Wellness
View Presentation Materials
Email: mulliganm@wit.edu

 

Academic Honesty: Tips and Trends
Presenters: JoJo Jacobson, Center for Academic Excellence and Kelly Parrish, Office of the Provost
View Presentation Materials
Email: jacobsonj@wit.edu

 

Keeping Up with the Library: What’s New, What’s Changed, and How It All Helps You
Presenters: Kelsey Diemand and Pia Romano, Library
View Presentation Materials
Email: diemandk@wit.edu| Email: romanop@wit.edu